<
Council of State 
Historical Records Coordinators banner
Search Site

 

COSHRC (Council of State Historical Record Coordinators) now named as CoSA (Council of State Archivists) has State and Territorial Archivists and Record Managers in all states throughout the United States. These State archives analyze the condition of historical records in each state, access them on their own and devise a plan to ensure state’s heritage. The directory of State and Territorial Archivists and Record Managers is given below:

Alabama

Steve Murray, Director
Alabama Department of Archives & History
PO Box 300100
Montgomery, AL 36130-0100
Telephone: 334-242-4441; Fax: 334-240-3433
steve.murray@archives.alabama.gov

Tracey Berezansky, Assistant Director for Government Records
Telephone: 334-242-4452
E-mail: tracey.berezansky@archives.alabama.gov

 


Alaska

Dean Dawson, State Archivist
Alaska State Archives
Department of Education & Early Development
141 Willoughby Avenue
Juneau, AK 99801-1720
Telephone: 907-465-2276; Fax: 907-465-2465

E-mail: dean.dawson@alaska.gov

 


ARIZONA

Melanie Sturgeon, Director
History and Archives Division
Polly Rosenbaum Archives and History Building
1901 W. Madison
Phoenix, AZ 85009
Telephone: 602-926-3720; Fax: 602-256-7982

E-mail: msturgeon@azlibrary.gov

 


ARKANSAS

Jane Wilkerson
Interim Director
Arkansas History Commission
One Capitol Mall
Little Rock, AR 72201
Telephone: 501-682-6900; Fax: 501-682-6916

E-mail: jane.wilkerson@arkansas.gov

 


CALIFORNIA

Nancy Zimmelman Lenoil
Director, Archives Division, and State Archivist
California State Archives
1020 O Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Telephone: 916-653-0401; Fax: 916-653-7134
E-mail: nlenoil@sos.ca.gov

Rebecca Wendt, Deputy State Coordinator
Telephone: 916-651-8420

E-mail: rwendt@sos.ca.gov

 


COLORADO

George F. Orlowski, State Archivist
Colorado State Archives
1313 Sherman Street, Room 1B-20
Denver, CO 80203
Telephone: 303-866-2329; Fax: 303-866-2257

E-mail: george.orlowski@state.co.us

 


CONNECTICUT

Mark H. Jones, State Archivist
Connecticut State Library
231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106
Telephone: 860-757-6511; Fax: 860-757-6542
E-mail: mark.h.jones@ct.gov

 

Lizette Pelletier
Public Records Archivist
Office of the Public Records Administrator
Connecticut State Library
231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106
Telephone: 860-566-1100 x304
E-mail: lizette.pelletier@ct.gov

 

LeAnn Power, CRM
Public Records Administrator
Connecticut State Library
231 Capitol Avenue
Hartford, CT 06106
Telephone: 860-757-6540; Fax: 860-757-6542

E-mail: leann.power@ct.gov

 


DELAWARE

Stephen Marz, State Archivist and Director
Delaware Public Archives
Hall of Records, 121 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
Dover, DE 19901
Telephone: 302-744-5049; Fax: 302-739-8436

E-mail: stephen.marz@state.de.us

 


DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Clarence Davis, Public Records Administrator
DC Office of Public Records
Executive Office of the Mayor
1300 Naylor Court, NW
Washington, DC 20001
Telephone: 202-671-1108; Fax: 202-727-6076

E-mail: clarence.davis@dc.gov

 


FLORIDA

Gerard Clark, Bureau Chief
Archives and Records Management
Division of Library and Information Services
Florida Department of State
Department of State, The Capitol
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0250
Telephone: 850-245-6639; Fax: 850-245-6744

E-mail: Gerard.Clark@DOS.MyFlorida.com

 


GEORGIA

Christopher M. Davidson, Director
The Georgia Archives
5800 Jonesboro Road, Morrow, GA 30260-1101
Telephone: 678-364-3714; Fax: 678-364-3859
E-mail: cdavidson@sos.ga.gov

Anne Smith, Assistant Director for Public Services
Telephone:  678-364-3718
E-mail: ghrab@sos.ga.gov

 


HAWAII

Susan E. Shaner, State Archivist
Hawaii State Archives, Iolani Palace Grounds
Honolulu, HI 96813
Telephone: 808-586-0310; Fax: 808-586-0330

E-mail: susan.e.shaner@hawaii.gov


IDAHO

David Matte, Acting State Archivist
Idaho State Archives/Manuscripts
Idaho State Historical Society
Merle Wells State Archives Building
2205 East Old Penitentiary Road
Boise, ID 83712
Telephone: 208-334-2620; Fax: 208-334-2626
E-mail: david.matte@ishs.idaho.gov

 

Duane Bogstie, Records Management Supervisor
Department of Administration
Bureau of Copy and Records Services
5327 Kendall, Boise, ID 83706
Telephone: 208-327-7060; Fax: 208-327-7062
Email: duane.bogstie@adm.idaho.gov

 

Carter L. Wilson III, Deputy State Coordinator
5558 West Harborcove Lane
Boise, ID 83703
Phone:208-853-8739

E-mail:wilsoncl6@msn.com

 


ILLINOIS

David Joens, Director
Illinois State Archives Office of the Secretary of State
Norton Building, Capitol Complex
Springfield, IL 62756
Telephone: 217-782-1083; Fax: 217-524-3930
E-mail: djoens@ilsos.net

Elaine Shemoney Evans, Deputy Coordinator
Telephone: 217-782-2226

E-mail: eevans@ilsos.net


INDIANA

Jim Corridan, Director and State Archivist
Indiana Commission on Public Records
IGCS W472, 402 W. Washington St., Room W472
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Telephone: 317-232-7191

E-mail: jcorridan@icpr.in.gov

 


IOWA

Sarabeth Anderson
Acting State Archivist
State Historical Society of Iowa
600 East Locust
Des Moines, IA 50319
Telephone: 515-281-8875; Fax: 515-282-0502
E-mail: sarabeth.anderson@iowa.gov

 

Jeffrey L. Dawson, C.A.
Deputy State Archivist
State Archives of Iowa
600 East Locust Street
Des Moines, IA 50319
Telephone: 515-281-7801

E-mail: jeffrey.dawson@iowa.gov

 


KANSAS

Patricia Michaelis
Director, Library and Archives Division
Kansas State Historical Society
6425 SW 6th Avenue
Topeka, KS 66615-1099
Telephone: 785-272-8681, ext. 270; Fax: 785-272-8682
E-mail: pmichaelis@kshs.org

 

Matt Veatch, State Archivist
Kansas State Historical Society
Telephone: 785-272-8681, ext 271

E-mail: mveatch@kshs.org

 


KENTUCKY

Barbara Teague, State Archivist and Records Administrator
Director, Public Records Division
Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives
P.O. Box 537, Frankfort, KY 40602
Telephone: 502-564-8300, ext. 249; Fax: 502-564-5773

E-mail: barbara.teague@ky.gov

 


LOUISIANA

Florent Hardy, Jr., State Archivist and Director
Louisiana State Archives
PO Box 94125
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9125
Telephone: 225-922-1200; Fax: 225-922-0433
E-mail: florent.hardy@sos.la.gov

Virginia Smith, Deputy Coordinator
P.O. Box 517
St. Francisville LA 70775
MAINE

David Cheever, State Archivist
Maine State Archives State House
Station 84
Augusta, ME 04333
Telephone: 207-287-5793; Fax: 207-287-5739

E-mail: david.cheever@maine.gov

 


MAINE

David Cheever, State Archivist
Maine State Archives State House
Station 84
Augusta, ME 04333
Telephone: 207-287-5793; Fax: 207-287-5739

E-mail: david.cheever@maine.gov

 


MARYLAND

Edward C. Papenfuse, State Archivist
Maryland State Archives
350 Rowe Boulevard, Annapolis, MD 21401
Telephone: 410-260-6401; Fax: 410-974-3895
E-mail: mdarchivist@maryland.gov

Timothy Baker, Deputy State Archivist
Maryland State Archives
Telephone: 410-260-6402
E-mail: tim.baker@maryland.gov

Michael Swygert, Administrator
Department of General Services
Records Management Center
7275 Waterloo Road
P.O. Box 275, Jessup, Maryland 20794
Telephone: 410 799-1930     

E-mail: michael.swygert@dgs.state.md.us

 


MASSACHUSETTS

John D. (Jack) Warner, State Archivist
Massachusetts Archives at Columbia Point
220 Morrissey Blvd.
Boston, MA 02125
Telephone: 617-727-2816; Fax: 617-288-8429

E-mail: john.warner@state.ma.us


MICHIGAN

Sandra Sageser Clark, Director
Michigan Historical Center
702 W. Kalamazoo, Lansing, MI 48909-8240
Telephone: 517-373-6362; Fax: 517-241-3647
E-mail: clarkss@michigan.gov

Mark Harvey, State Archivist
Telephone: 517-373-1415
E-mail: harveym@michigan.gov

Brice Sample, CRM
Director, Records Management Services
Department of Technology, Management and Budget
3400 N. Grand River Ave., PO Box 30026
Lansing, Michigan 48909
Telephone: 517-335-9450

E-mail: sampleb@michigan.gov
 

MINNESOTA

D. Stephen Elliott
Director, Minnesota Historical Society
345 Kellogg Blvd. West, St. Paul MN 55102-1906
Telephone: 651-259-3102
E-mail: steve.elliott@mnhs.org

Patricia A. Gaarder
Deputy Director, Historic and Education Programs
Minnesota Historical Society
345 Kellogg Blvd. West, St. Paul MN 55102-1906
Telephone: 651-259-3110
E-mail: pat.gaarder@mnhs.org

Shawn Rounds, State Archivist
Minnesota Historical Society
345 Kellogg Blvd. West, St. Paul MN 55102-1906
Telephone: 651-259-3265; Fax: 651-296-9961

E-mail: shawn.rounds@mnhs.org

 


MISSISSIPPI

H. T. Holmes, Director
Mississippi Department of Archives and History
P.O. Box 571
Jackson, MS 39205-0571
Telephone: 601-576-6850; Fax: 601-576-6975
E-mail: hholmes@mdah.state.ms.us

Julia Marks Young
Director, Archives and Records Services Division
Telephone: 601-576-6991; Fax: 601-576-6975

E-mail: jyoung@mdah.state.ms.us

 


MISSOURI

Robin Carnahan, Secretary of State
PO Box 778
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Telephone: 573-751-2379; Fax: 573-526-4903

John Dougan
State Archivist
Office of Secretary of State, Missouri State Archives
600 West Main Street, PO Box 1747
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Telephone: 573-751-4717; Fax: 573-526-7333
E-mail: john.dougan@sos.mo.gov

 

Brian Rogers
Principal Assistant for Boards and Commissions
Missouri State Archives
600 West Main P.O. Box 1747
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1747
Telephone: 573-526-1981
FAX: 573-526-7333

E-mail: brian.rogers@sos.mo.gov

 


MONTANA

Jodie Foley
State Archivist
Montana Historical Society
225 North Roberts, PO Box 201201
Helena, MT 59620-1201
Telephone: 406-444-7482; Fax: 406-444-5297
E-mail: jofoley@mt.gov

 

Patti Borsberry
Deputy, Records and Information Management
Office of the Secretary of State
1320 Bozeman Street
Helena, MT 59601
Telephone: 406-444-9009; Fax: 406-444-9002

E-mail: pborsberry@mt.gov

 


NEBRASKA

Gayla Koerting, State Archivist
Nebraska State Historical Society
PO Box 82554, Lincoln NE 68501
Telephone: 402-471-4783
Email: gayla.koerting@nebraska.gov

 

Cathy Danahy
Deputy Secretary of State for Records Management
440 South 8th Street, Suite 210
Lincoln, NE  68508
Telephone: 402-471-2745; FAX: 402-471-2406
Email: cathy.danahy@nebraska.gov

Mary Ott, RIM Specialist
Nebraska Secretary of State's Office
Records Management Division
440 South 8th Street, Suite 210
Lincoln, NE  68508
Telephone: 402-471-4184; Fax: 402-471-2406

Email: mary.ott@nebraska.gov

 


NEVADA

Daphne DeLeon, Administrator
Nevada State Library and Archives
100 North Stewart Street
Carson City, NV 89701-4285
Telephone: 775-684-3315; Fax: 775-684-3311
E-mail: ddeleon@admin.nv.gov

Jeffrey M. Kintop, State Archivist
Nevada State Library & Archives
Telephone: 775-684-3410; Fax: 775-684-3371
E-mail: jkintop@admin.nv.gov

Peter Michel
Director, Special Collections, UNLV Libraries
University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7010
Telephone: 702-895-2243; Fax 702-895-2253

E-mail: pmichel@ccmail.nevada.edu

 


NEW HAMPSHIRE

Brian Nelson Burford, State Archivists and Director
NH Division of Archives and Records Management
71 South Fruit Street
Concord, NH 03301
Telephone: 603-271-2236; Fax: 603-271-2272

E-mail: Brian.Burford@sos.nh.gov

 


NEW JERSEY

Joseph R. Klett
Chief of Archives
New Jersey State Archives
225 West State Street, P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
Telephone: 609-292-9507; Fax: 609-292-9105
E-mail: joseph.klett@sos.state.nj.us

Ellen R. Callahan
Collection Manager
Deputy Coordinator of the NJSHRAB
New Jersey State Archives
Telephone: 609-292-1570
Fax: 609-292-9105

E-mail: ellen.callahan@sos.state.nj.us

 


NEW MEXICO

John Martinez, State Records Administrator
Director, NM State Records Center and Archives
1205 Camino Carlos Rey
Santa Fe, NM 87507
Telephone: 505-476-7911; Fax: 505-476-7901

E-mail: johnhyrum.martinez@state.nm.us

 


NEW YORK

Christine Ward , Assistant Commissioner
New York State Archives
Room 9D46, Cultural Education Center
Albany, NY 12230
Telephone: 518-473-7091; Fax: 518-473-7058
E-mail: cward@mail.nysed.gov

Kathleen Roe
Director, Archives and Records Management Operations
New York State Archives
Room 9D46, Cultural Education Center
Telephone: 518-473-4254; Fax: 518-402-5372

E-mail: kroe@mail.nysed.gov

 


NORTH CAROLINA

Dr. Kevin Cherry, Deputy Secretary
Office of Archives and History
Department of Cultural Resources
4610 Mail Service Center, Raleigh NC 27699-4610
Telephone: 919-807-7282; Fax: 919-733-8807
E-mail: kevin.cherry@ncdcr.gov

Sarah Koonts, Director
Division of Archives and Records
North Carolina State Archives
Dept. of Cultural Resources
4614 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-4614
Telephone: 919-807-7339; Fax: 919-715-7274

E-mail: sarah.koonts@ncdcr.gov

 


NORTH DAKOTA

Ann B. Jenks, State Archivist
State Historical Society of North Dakota
612 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505-0830
Telephone: 701-328-2090; Fax: 701-328-3710

E-mail: ajenks@nd.gov

 


OHIO

Fred Previts, CA
State Archivist
Government Services
Ohio Historical Society
800 East 17th Avenue, Columbus, Ohio 43211
Telephone:  614-297-2536; Fax: 614-297-2546

Email: fprevits@ohiohistory.org

 


OKLAHOMA

Jan Davis, Administrative Archivist
Oklahoma Department of Libraries
200 NE 18th Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73105
Telephone: 405-522-3191; Fax: 405-522-3583

E-mail: jdavis@oltn.odl.state.ok.us

 


OREGON

Mary Beth Herkert, State Archivist
Archives Division Office of the Secretary of State
800 Summer Street NE, Salem, OR 97310
Telephone: 503-373-0701
Fax: 503-373-0953
E-mail: mary.e.herkert@state.or.us

Dan Cantrall, Deputy SHRAB Coordinator
Electronic Information Manager
Telephone: 503-373-0701 ext 247
Fax: 503-373-0953

E-mail: daniel.e.cantrall@state.or.us

 


PENNSYLVANIA

David Haury, Director
Pennsylvania State Archives
Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission
350 North Street, Harrisburg, PA 17120-0090
Telephone: 717-783-9872; Fax: 717-787-4822
E-mail: dhaury@pa.gov

 

David W. Shoff, Chief
State Archives Division
Pennsylvania State Archives
Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission
350 North Street, Harrisburg, PA 17120-0090
Telephone: 717-783-5796

E-mail: dshoff@pa.gov



RHODE ISLAND

R. Gwenn Stearn
State Archivist and Public Records Administrator
Rhode Island State Archives
337 Westminster Street, Providence, RI 02903
Telephone: 401-222-2353; Fax: 401-222-3199

E-mail: gstearn@sec.state.ri.us

 


SOUTH CAROLINA

Eric Emerson, Director
South Carolina Department of Archives and History
8301 Parklane Road, Columbia, SC 29223
Telephone: 803-896-6187

E-mail: eemerson@scdah.state.sc.us

 


SOUTH DAKOTA

Chelle Somsen
State Archivist
South Dakota State Historical Society
900 Governors Drive, Pierre, SD 57501-2217
Telephone: 605-773-5521; Fax: 605-773-6041

E-mail: chelle.somsen@state.sd.us

 


TENNESSEE

Wayne Moore, Assistant State Archivist
Tennessee State Library and Archives
403 7th Avenue North, Nashville TN 37243-0312
Telephone: 615-253-3458; Fax: 615-532-5315
E-mail: wayne.moore@state.tn.us

Jami C. Awalt
SHRAB Secretary and
Deputy State Historical Records Coordinator
Tennessee State Library & Archives Nashville, TN 37243-0312
E-mail: jami.awalt@state.tn.us

Phone: 615-253-3470

 


TEXAS

Jelain Chubb, State Archivist
Texas State Library and Archives Commission
1201 Brazos Street, PO Box 12927
Austin TX  78711-2927
Phone: 512-463-5467

Email: jchubb@tsl.state.tx.us

 


UTAH

Patricia Smith-Mansfield, Director
Utah State Archives and Records Services
P.O. Box 141021
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1021
Telephone: 801-531-3850
E-mail: pmansfie@utah.gov

John Koerner
Administrative Services Manager
Utah State Archives and Records Services
Telephone: 801-531-3865

E-mail: jkoerner@utah.gov

 


VERMONT

Tanya Marshall, State Archivist
Vermont State Archives and Records Administration
1078 US Route 2 Middlesex
Montpelier, VT 05633-7701
Telephone: 802-828-0405 ; Fax: 802-828-3710
E-mail: tanya.marshall@sec.state.vt.us

Chris Burns, Assistant Coordinator
Archivist/Technical Services Librarian
Special Collections, Bailey/Howe Library
University of Vermont, Burlington, VT 05405
Telephone: 802-656-2631

E-mail: cburns@zoo.uvm.edu

 


VIRGINIA

Sandra Gioia Treadway
Librarian of Virginia and State Archivist
Library of Virginia
800 East Broad Street
Richmond, Virginia  23219-8000
Telephone: 804-692-3535
E-mail: Sandra.Treadway@lva.virginia.gov

 

Carl Childs, Deputy SHRAB Coordinator

E-mail: carl.childs@lva.virginia.gov

 


WASHINGTON

Steve Excell
State Archivist
Washington State Archives
1129 Washington Street, Olympia WA 98504
Telephone: 360-586-2664; Fax: 360-664-8814

E-mail: steve.excell@sos.wa.gov

 


WEST VIRGINIA

Joe Geiger, Director
West Virginia Archives and History
The Cultural Center
1900 Kanawha Blvd., East Charleston, WV 25305
Telephone: 304-558-0230 x164; Fax: 304-558-2779

E-mail: Joe.N.Geiger@wv.gov

 


WISCONSIN

Matt Blessing
Director, Library-Archives Division
Wisconsin Historical Society
816 State Street
Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608-264-6480

E-mail: matt.blessing@wisconsinhistory.org

 


VIRGIN ISLANDS

Susan Laura Lugo
Assistant Director/Territorial Archivist
Government of the Virgin Islands
DPNR/Division of Libraries, Archives and Museums
20 Dronningens Gade
St. Thomas, VI  00802
Telephone: 340-774-2362; Fax: 340-690-0531

Email: susan.lugo@dpnr.gov.vi

 


PUERTO RICO

 [position vacant]
General Archivist of Puerto Rico
Instituto de Cultura Puertorriqueña
Archivo General de Puerto Rico
P.O. Box 9024184
San Juan, P.R. 00902-4184
Telephone: 787-725-1060

E-mail: archivogeneral@icp.gobierno.pr

 


NORTHERN MARIANA ISLANDS

Territorial Archivist position is vacant.
Interim contact:
Matthew Pastula
Director Library Programs & Services
Northern Marianas College
P.O. Box 501250
As-Terlaje, Saipan MP 96950
Telephone: 670-234-5498  ext. 1122

E-mail: matthewp@nmcnet.edu

AMERICAN SAMOA

James Himphill, Territorial Archivist
Office of the Attorney General
American Samoa Government
Pago Pago, AS  96799
Telephone: 684-633-4163 Fax: 684-633-1838

E-mail: James.Himphill@la.as.gov

 


WYOMING

Michael Strom
State Archivist
Division of Cultural Resources
Department of State Parks and Cultural Resources
2301 Central, Cheyenne WY 82002
Telephone: 307-777-7020

E-mail: michael.strom@wyo.gov